Asia DiningAsia Dining
Submit Review
Meal
Celebration
Keywords
Publish Date
to
Visit Date
to
District
Showing 1 to 15 of 36730 reviews
Review Type:
OpenRicer Level:
A Cheesy Kind of Night
Smile 3 days ago
It took quite some time for my food buddy, Nick to decide on a restaurant in Promenade. The new wing made choosing even more difficult as it added on a whole row of new restaurants to the established ones in the original wing.

Finally, we decided on a longtime favorite, Cafe Publico, which relocated from its cozy two-floor spot to a slightly cramped- more open, but still cozy spot near the Atmos cinema theaters. Though its current spot is half its size, it still features its quirky gelato flavors, as well as its fun boardgames which have won us over before.

   Spinach and Cheese Dip

We started off with some Spinach and Cheese Dip (P280), which featured a bowl of rich, and creamy spinach cheese dip, which was simply delightful! It was paired with some real mean breadsticks (which are amazing on their own), and melba toast. It was a heavy appetizer, but it was enjoyable nonetheless. One comment though, I would have loved a little bit more spinach with it!

   Turkey Pastrami and Mushroom Cream

My pick for the night would be the Turkey Pastrami and Mushroom Cream (P295), al dente spagetti noodles tossed in a light and tasty cream sauce. It was wonderfully paired with some tasty pastrami slices, and sauteed mushrooms. It was generously topped with some parmesan cheese, and was paired with its yummy breadsticks!

   Pulled Pork Mac

Nick's choice would be Pulled Pork Mac (P275), which featured tender pork tenderloin baked in a bed of cheese. Once again, it was served with some breadsticks (by this time...fine, I grew a bit tired of them already). I loved how the barbecue flavor of the pork tenderloin was not overpowered by the thick and gooey (but delicious) cheese layers.

Overall, I guess we could have used a bit of variety in our food choices; but the dinner was still splendid (and filling). That didn't mean we didn't have room to sample its tempting gelato selection! I'm definitely looking forward to sampling it out again!

Date of Visit:
2014-02-13

Restaurant Ratings
  • Taste (4)
  • Environment (5)
  • Service (4)
  • Clean (5)
  • Price (5)
Rate this review

  • Keep it up

    0

  • Look Forward

    0

  • Interesting

    0

  • Touched

    0

  • Admiration

    0

  • Nice Photo

    0
Borough: Frozen Cocoa for Adults
Smile 5 days ago
If Borough would be placed as an entry in a dictionary, it would probably have the definition of 'chill hangout place'. From its laidback interiors to its all-day offerings, it's no wonder that when friends are looking for a place to hangout, Borough is definitely top of mind.

My January 3, 2014 Visit:

   Serendipity 3

This visit was with members of my barkada. Not everyone could make it, but my friends, Angelli, Ina, and Hazel were able to. We were able to catch its 'Happy Hour' promo which featured a selection of Buy 1 Take 1 Cocktails until 8pm. Hazel and Ina decided to avail their own drinks; while Angelli and I decided to go for Serendipity 3 (P200, Buy 1 Take 1). I'm not much of a drinker, but it definitely intrigued me primarily because of its teasing ingredients. It featured chocnut, cocoa, and chocolate syrup; all laced in Absolut Vodka. It was such a delightful blend, because it definitely tasted like an alcoholic version of really rich hot chocolate, frozen; and converted to an alcoholic cocktail. It was definitely divine!

   Sole Amandine

For my meal, I decided to go with the Sole Amandine (P410), to keep things on the lighter side. The sole fillets were sauteed and lightly flavored with lemon juice, and capers. Each bite was bursting with flavor, and accompanied by the crunch of the blanched green beans.

We ended the meal by sharing an order of its famed Milk and Cookies, which featured 16 pieces of soft, gooey, warm cookies; paired with the most heavenly milk you'd ever tasted! The perfect ratio for Milk and Cookies, would be 4 diners is to 1 order + extra milk.

My February 8, 2014 Visit:

On my second visit, I shared a meal with some of my batchmates in college. The whole gang consisted of Adriann, Marion, Lean, Sam, James, and Aloy.

   Pasta Primavera

My pick for the night would be the Pasta Primavera (P270), which featured a hearty bowl of light pasta, tossed with a colorful assortment of fresh vegetables, such as zucchini, string beans, carrots, and tomato; flavored by sauteed shiitake mushrooms, and a light cream sauce.

Of course, we ended the meal with Milk and Cookies, once again! It never fails to be a crowd pleaser! Do not be thrown off if you can't find it on the menu, just order it up from the warm and friendly crew! Don't forget the golden ratio;)! 4 People = 1 Order + Extra Milk!

Date of Visit:
2014-02-08

Restaurant Ratings
  • Taste (4)
  • Environment (5)
  • Service (5)
  • Clean (5)
  • Price (5)
Rate this review

  • Keep it up

    0

  • Look Forward

    0

  • Interesting

    0

  • Touched

    0

  • Admiration

    0

  • Nice Photo

    0
The Chef Chris Standard
Smile 6 days ago
Whenever you find yourself in a Chef Chris-run restaurant, you can expect exquisite food prepared with premium ingredients, that is guaranteed to satisfy your gastronomic cravings.

My Kitchen is far from an exception to this, as it definitely lives up to that standard!

   House Bread

While taking our sweet time in choosing what to order, we were treated to toasted bread, which came with a delightful pesto dip. The bread could have been a lot warmer, but it was enjoyable nonetheless.

   Original Verena

Chef Chris prepares one of the best panizzas in town, so it was a bit difficult for us to choose just one variant. We finally settled with the Original Verena (P790) which had a lovely tomato and cheese base, topped with fresh scallops, prawns, and sun dried tomatoes. Each bite was accented by the exquisite flavor of truffle oil.

   Spaghetti Amatriciana

We ordered Spaghetti Amatriciana (P640), which had really tasty and tangy tomato sauce, wonderfully accented by the smoky flavors of Italian ham and mushrooms. The sauce was also tempered by some white wine, which lent it an interesting aroma.

   Osso Buco Maestri

   Risotto

We ordered the Osso Buco Maestri (350g/P980; 500g/P1400), which was cooked in a light cream sauce doused with white wine, and topped with parsley. Each bite featured tender meat which simply melted in your mouth, clothed by a light and creamy sauce which paired well with the lemon accented risotto.

   Tender Oven Baked Pork Ribs with Herb Crust

We also ordered the Tender Oven Baked Pork Ribs with Herb Crust (P1400), which was a generous serving of pork ribs laid neatly on a bed of tasty chorizo rice pilaf. The pilaf was colorfully served with sun dried apricots, and pine nuts. These tasty well-marinated tender ribs are definitely perfect for sharing. I'd appreciate it more if there would have been more sauce to lend moisture to the ribs; however, taste-wise, the meat can stand perfectly on its own.

Needless to say, I do not regret this carb-filled dinner in any way (and would have it over and over again, if I could). Definitely, this meal has been consistent to the standard expected of Chef Chris.

Date of Visit:
2014-02-02

Restaurant Ratings
  • Taste (5)
  • Environment (5)
  • Service (5)
  • Clean (5)
  • Price (4)
Rate this review

  • Keep it up

    0

  • Look Forward

    0

  • Interesting

    0

  • Touched

    0

  • Admiration

    0

  • Nice Photo

    0
Dolcelatte: More than Just Coffee
Smile 6 days ago
Dolcelatte may give off the impression that it's simply a fancy coffee and pastry shop. However, the main thing that sets it apart from other coffee shops would be its exquisite selection of delicious hot plates. Think of it as the TWG counterpart for coffee.

   House Bread

Every meal starts off with a serving of house bread. The long slices of immensely soft bread came with sweetened balsamic vinegar. It was sweeter than what is typically served; yet, it still went well with the bread.

   Sole Puttanesca

A favorite would be the Sole Puttanesca (P420), which featured pan-seared sole fillets on top of a bed of light lemon zested pasta. I love this dish simply because the herb-filled fillets remind me of Cafe Mediterranean's Moroccan Fish Fillet which I'm a huge fan of.

   Beef Salpicao

We decided to try the Beef Salpicao (P550) which featured tenderloin tips with sauteed mushrooms and fried garlic chips. This classic dish was served with rice and roasted vegetables. It was prepared in a very straightforward manner, but each bite was tender and juicy, which made it exquisitely delicious! The extra kick would be that it was marinated in wine, which further brought out the flavors of the beef.

   Bacon Mushroom Burger

My sister decided to try the Bacon Mushroom Burger (P350) which was served between toasted ciabatta bread halves. The beef patty was a generous serving of juicy meat, layered with American cheese which made each bite more enjoyable!

Of course, we had to end the meal with a cup of Dolcelatte each. I'm not a fan of sweet coffee, but this definitely counts as an exception!

It was definitely another good dining experience in Dolcelatte. I'm quite excited to see how its expansion plans will push through, especially as it's set to open another branch in SM's New Fashion Mall!

Date of Visit:
2014-02-01

Restaurant Ratings
  • Taste (5)
  • Environment (5)
  • Service (5)
  • Clean (5)
  • Price (4)
Rate this review

  • Keep it up

    0

  • Look Forward

    0

  • Interesting

    0

  • Touched

    0

  • Admiration

    0

  • Nice Photo

    0
Ever Had Your Pizza Black?
Smile 2014-04-13
The Village Tavern would have to be one of my favorite Bistro Group-run restaurants. Although pricier than its other sister restaurants, you can be assured that it pays careful attention to the execution and quality of its dishes.

   Blackened Chicken Alfredo

Because we couldn't start raving about its Blackened Chicken Alfredo (P425/P650) since our first visit, we just had to order it again! It featured fettucine in a light creamy alfredo sauce, with grilled chicken strips, broccoli, and fresh tomatoes. However, it was not as good as the one we had before! The sauce wasn't as tasty; and the chicken was a bit dry. It was so far from the one we had before, that it seemed like it was a completely different dish altogether.

Luckily, the dishes that we decided to try out more than made up for the disappointing Alfredo.

   Snapper Hemingway

We enjoyed the Snapper Hemingway (P550/750), which featured a nice fillet of snapper, cooked in white wine, and served with angel hair pasta. The snapper had a nice meaty bite to it, and was wonderfully paired with some lemon and capers.

   Braised Beef

The Braised Beef in red wine jus was really tender and tasty. We opted to pair it up with really delicious potatoes; however, you can choose to have the rice pilaf. This was definitely a must-try!

   Black Pizza

Lastly, the Black Pizza (P475) piqued my curiosity; since I never had squid ink pizza before or seen a pizza literally colored black. The dough itself was made with squid ink, which made it incredibly tasty and irresistible! Aside from this, it was loaded with three kinds of cheeses, gruyere, mozzarella, and parmesan; and was served with some pepperoni, mushrooms, and bell peppers. It would have been better if the crust were crunchier, but the entire experience was amazing!

Overall, it was a wonderful second visit to The Village Tavern. Although, the Blackened Chicken Alfredo miserably failed to live up to what we tried before; the other dishes were still quite splendid!

Date of Visit:
2014-01-31

Restaurant Ratings
  • Taste (4)
  • Environment (5)
  • Service (5)
  • Clean (5)
  • Price (4)
Rate this review

  • Keep it up

    0

  • Look Forward

    0

  • Interesting

    0

  • Touched

    0

  • Admiration

    0

  • Nice Photo

    0
Breakfast for Dinner
Just OK 2014-04-13
If I could eat breakfast food all day, I really would. There's something about the richness, and heartiness in breakfast food that just fills your stomach up and brings a smile to your face.

Thus, it was an obvious 'yes' for me when my food buddy, Nick Castro, asked me if I wanted to try Hatch 22 out.

Honestly, I didn't know what rock I've been hiding under...but I have never heard of Hatch 22 before my first visit! What makes it even more shameful is that I frequent the Powerplant Mall and failed to notice it.

The important thing is, I can now say that finally, I was able to try out.

   NYOB

My choice for the night would be the NYOB (Not Your Ordinary Benedicts) (P445). This dish featured freshly baked rustic muffins filled with layers of sauteed wild mushrooms and spinach, and flavored by smoky Italian ham pieces. It was also served with sous vide egg (a cooking style which literally means under vacuum; thus, made the eggs perfectly runny), and a tangy version of the classic hollandaise sauce. I thoroughly enjoyed this dish because all elements simply harmonized; from the texture, to the flavors, everything just worked for this dish.

   Son of a Biscuit

On the other hand, Nick ordered the Son of a Biscuit (P470), which featured a generous serving of really heavy biscuits, hominy grits, chipotle, fried chicken fillet and pork sausage to pair it with. The dish was topped with white sausage gravy. I found his order just alright. For starters, it seems too heavy to be consumed by one person. The biscuits were really filling. Aside from this, the chicken had some odd aftertaste to it; while the sausage was just mediocre. I wasn't fan of the grits, but I guess that I'm just not that accustomed to it. This could have been better as a dish to be shared by 3-4 diners; while having separate main orders.

Overall, I don't mind dropping by for another visit to Hatch 22. Its upbeat busy vibe, and quirky dishes would definitely keep you curious and excited.

Date of Visit:
2014-01-29

Restaurant Ratings
  • Taste (4)
  • Environment (5)
  • Service (5)
  • Clean (5)
  • Price (4)
Rate this review

  • Keep it up

    0

  • Look Forward

    0

  • Interesting

    0

  • Touched

    0

  • Admiration

    0

  • Nice Photo

    0
KKK Food Revolution
Smile 2014-04-13
If it we'rent for a friend, I wouldn't have the opportunity to dine at this restaurant. The name is quite interesting enough but I am a bit skeptic when dining in a restaurant that serves Filipino dishes. I mean, our mothers and lolas are all great cooks (which I know most of you will agree) so tasting extra special Filipino dishes in a restaurant sometimes becomes more of a miss than a hit.

 

I had the Lemongrass Iced Tea. The glass was a novelty- thumbs up. However, it tasted too sweet so it doesn't taste refreshing anymore. But I did manage to finish it to the last drop.

 

For appetizer, we had the Crispy KangKong. This is the local version of the popular crispy spinach that's been quite popular years ago. This tasted so nice, including the vinegar dip. Two thumbs up! I can happily eat this the whole day.

 

KKK's famous Sinigang na Lechon. I was really excited to try this since I love sinigang and I love lechon but it falls short from expectation and doesn't taste spectacular.

 

Kare-Kare. Now this is a very praise-worthy kare-kare that made me forget I'm eating in a restaurant and made me recall the feasts that my lola used to prepare. This deserves another two thumbs up. The ox trip and meat was very tender and the peanut sauce doesn't taste it came from a pack.

 

Overall, it was an interesting and good dining experience. The interiors at this restaurant are also nice and the staff are warm and friendly. smile

Recommended Dish(es):
crispy kangkong,kare kare

Spending:
Approximately
Php300(Lunch)

Restaurant Ratings
  • Taste (4)
  • Environment (5)
  • Service (4)
  • Clean (4)
  • Price (5)
Rate this review

  • Keep it up

    0

  • Look Forward

    0

  • Interesting

    0

  • Touched

    0

  • Admiration

    0

  • Nice Photo

    0
A Taste of Kapampangan Flavor
Just OK 2014-04-12
UP Town Center is bustling with a lot of new and busy restaurants such as the much talked about Ginza Bairin, the immensely popular 8 Cuts and Casa Verde (evident in their never ending queues) to name a few. There are familiar faces such as Steveston Pizza, and JCo Donuts; but some interesting new players as well.

One of which would be the Kapampangan restaurant, Pinac.

Sadly, the sole reason why we ended up dining in Pinac would be because it was the 'most available' during that busy lunch hour. I didn't have high hopes for the meal, but wished that somehow, it would be at least worth the visit.

   Sizzling Sisig

We proceeded to order a number of 'safe' choices such as the Sizzling Sisig (P155) which we started with. I would have to admit that it was tasty; however, I was not a fan of it.

   Inihaw na Liempo

We also tried the Inihaw na Liempo (P190), which was well-marinated and flavorful. The pork belly was really delicious; however there was barely enough meat to fully enjoy it.

   Beef Tapa

The Beef Tapa (P195) was a complete meal on its own, as it was served with sunny side eggs, garlic rice, and some atsara. An odd but pleasant surprise would be that it was served with some eggplant and kangkong. Although these were far from the usual breakfast sides we're accustomed to, they were perfect complements to the tasty beef strips.

   Jerry's Fried Itik

I'd have to say that I thoroughly enjoyed Jerry's Fried Itik (P295) which was cooked in olive oil, garlic, and liver spread. The duck meat was quite tough; however, I did appreciate how tasty it was.

   Binukadkad na Tilapia

As a lighter alternative to our meaty dishes, we also ordered the Binukadkad na Tilapia (P255) which was perfectly crispy. It was also served with some lovely light soy sauce and a refreshing yellow mango chutney.

   Calamansi Panna Cotta and Turon with Dulce de Leche

For our dessert, we enjoyed the Calamansi Panna Cotta and Turon with Dulce de Leche (P120). I was happy with this dessert; however, I wished that the panna cotta would have been smoother.

   Brazo de Mais at Salabat

We also had the Brazo de Mais at Salabat (P185) which was just alright. The meringue and custard simply passed expectations.

Overall, Pinac still has a lot of work to do with regard to improving the quality of its dishes. I have noted that some dishes had the potential of being stellar; however more details have to be paid more attention to. Honestly, I'm not looking forward to a second visit to the restaurant, but I'm willing to be proven wrong.

Date of Visit:
2014-01-19

Restaurant Ratings
  • Taste (3)
  • Environment (4)
  • Service (5)
  • Clean (4)
  • Price (5)
Rate this review

  • Keep it up

    0

  • Look Forward

    0

  • Interesting

    0

  • Touched

    0

  • Admiration

    0

  • Nice Photo

    0
Microscopic
Cries 2014-04-06
Imagine this; you live in Cavite but there is in urgent service that you have to purchase in Makati - it is only available in Makati and the deadline for the payment is within the day. You finally arrive but at lunch time!

Such is my luck on this day so I have no option but to go to the nearest mall (Greenbelt) and grab a quick lunch. As expected, every restaurant or diner is packed to its capacity. Then from the sidewalk, I saw a vacant spot at Binalot so I rushed in to occupy it.

I ordered the binagoongan with a cup of rice and soda. Seeing my meal, I felt that I was short changed. It isn't worth my 99 Pesos.

The pork served was all fat; not a morsel of lean meat. And, to make matters worse, there's not even a hint of bagoong in the sauce. If this is their binagoongan, they must have placed a special kind - - microscopic bagoong! Maybe that made this stuff expensive.

 

Recommended Dish(es):
none

Date of Visit:
2014-03-20

Spending:
Approximately
Php99(Lunch)

Restaurant Ratings
  • Taste (3)
  • Environment (3)
  • Service (3)
  • Clean (2)
  • Price (3)
Rate this review

  • Keep it up

    0

  • Look Forward

    0

  • Interesting

    0

  • Touched

    0

  • Admiration

    0

  • Nice Photo

    0
Good Food and Warm Service
Smile 2014-04-06
Among the Café's best sellers are Spareribs Adobo Rice, Salpicao, Callos, Lola Ising’s Adobo and Knockout Knuckles. Though I wasn’t able to try out those, I really enjoyed the dishes we had! smile

   Garlic Pork Leg Espa�ole Caf� Adriatico’s 35th anniversary dish; Spanish-style pork leg with fried whole garlic cloves and potatoes in olive oil; served with a tangy herb sauce

   Hummus with Pita Bread Eastern Mediterranean blend of chickpeas, garlic & spices, served with Pita bread

   U.S. Tenderloin Steak Solana Pan-fried and topped with seared onions and shiitake mushrooms; served with buttered zucchini slices, mashed potatoes, and a mild peppercorn sauce

   Blue Marlin Provencale Blue marlin topped with tomato and caper sauce

   Buttered Vegetables Broccoli, asparagus and carrots sauteed in butter

   Gambas al Ajillo Shrimps in garlic - Catalan style

 Bar area

 Caf� Adriatico is perfect for a date night

Of all the yummy eats we tried, my favorite was the Garlic Pork Leg Españole. It really captured my heart. The meat was tender, the rind was crispy, and when dipped into the tangy sauce (made from parsley, orange and garlic) it goes from delicious to exceptional.

More pics and description on my blog: ♥ www.kimnieves.com ♥

Recommended Dish(es):
Garlic Pork Leg Españole

Spending:
Approximately
Php500(Dinner)

Restaurant Ratings
  • Taste (5)
  • Environment (5)
  • Service (5)
  • Clean (5)
  • Price (5)
Rate this review

  • Keep it up

    0

  • Look Forward

    0

  • Interesting

    0

  • Touched

    0

  • Admiration

    0

  • Nice Photo

    0
New Found Love for Sticky Toffee Pudding
Just OK 2014-04-05

I'd have to say that Spatzle has its own charm of welcoming intrigued diners in. Aside from its laidback vibe and quirky interiors, its interesting European Market set up definitely is enough to hype up one's curiosity.

Aside from the usual tissue and utensils, Spatzle also provides its personalized hand sanitizer for its diners to use.

Its menu is on a hard folder, just like the ones that Green Pastures and The Clubhouse have. The menu had a number of interesting dishes listed; but since we were just two, we were constrained in our selections.

The drinks selection was immensely tempting, that we decided to order a drink each.

   All Natural Citrus Cooler Soda

My mom had the All Natural Citrus Cooler Soda (P145), which was a refreshing blend of citrus fruits, mint leaves, honey, and cucumbers in sparkling water.

   Spatz All Natural Caffeine Free Iced Tea

I decided to have the Spatz All Natural Caffeine Free Iced Tea (P98), which seemed to taste like chamomile tea with honey, paired with slices of lemon.

I found both drinks interesting; however, they fail to pair well with the food that we ordered.

   Roast Chicken Sausage on Mushroom Spatzle

The first of which would be the Roast Chicken Sausage on Mushroom Spatzle (P319), which was paired with gravy. I found the meat really dry, but the chicken had really tasty skin which made the dish bearable. The spatzle was definitely not the best I've tasted. I'd rather go to Brotzeit (also in Shangri-la) to get some good tasting spatzle fare.

   Monte Blanc

We also shared the Monte Blanc (P325) tarte flambe, which featured a delightful topping made from a mixture of pancetta, bacon bits, spinach, mushrooms, and cream sauce. These are all topped with a layer of potato chips. I definitely enjoyed this dish, especially because of the chips. I'd have to say that the extra crunch brought the flatbread dish up to a whole different level. The tarte flambe was pretty tasty on its own, but the extra crunch and saltiness made it more satisfying to eat.

   Sticky Toffee Pudding

My favorite dish for the night would have to be the Sticky Toffee Pudding (P110). It was definitely a TINY piece of dessert; however, its top layer is something that you would definitely crave for. It had just the right amount of sweetness, which was perfectly complemented by its cake base. This was the dish that convinced me to try Spatzle out again in the near future.

Overall, I was quite disappointed with the turnout of its main dishes. I'd like to believe that we just ordered the wrong things; however, having a mediocre spatzle dish when it's the name that your restaurant bears is a bit concerning. Luckily though, it still has its hits to make up for its misses.

It's a place where there is an endless supply of mouthwatering aromas, and quirky interiors such as the bill folder shown below.

Date of Visit:
2014-01-11

Restaurant Ratings
  • Taste (3)
  • Environment (5)
  • Service (5)
  • Clean (5)
  • Price (4)
Rate this review

  • Keep it up

    0

  • Look Forward

    0

  • Interesting

    0

  • Touched

    0

  • Admiration

    0

  • Nice Photo

    0
Fresh and tasty seafood
Smile 2014-04-02

 

This restaurant is mainly serving seafood. As you know British like me would not like seafood. However, seafood here tastes really good. I went to a trip with my family to celebrate my dad's birthday and we went to this restaurant in Phillipine. The first time I have been there and I think it is such a wonderful place to dine. The portion of the food was just amazingly huge. I myself am a rubgy player and I have to admit that I consume a lot. However, the food they are serving was too massive that I could not finish them!!! Moreover the food has a really fresh taste with no fishy taste nor smell, that I think should be praised. I espically liked the clamps and the mixture of fresh seafood mixed with rice. It tastes really good and the seafood was really fresh. The shrimps were really good too, as their texture was good, not too soft nor hard, but also juicy. I would recommend this to anybody I know if they are going to Philipine. I love this place!! And here encloses the massive food picture, enjoy reading and starving hahahaha!!lolloltongue

Date of Visit:
2014-03-17

Restaurant Ratings
  • Taste (5)
  • Environment (4)
  • Service (4)
  • Clean (5)
  • Price (5)
Rate this review

  • Keep it up

    0

  • Look Forward

    0

  • Interesting

    0

  • Touched

    0

  • Admiration

    0

  • Nice Photo

    0
Chuck's Deli: The Quirky Side of Sandwiches
Smile 2014-03-31
Even though I'm absolutely fascinated by the offerings of Chuck's Deli, this was only my second time to dine here. Aside from the fact that I don't frequent Eastwood as much anymore, sandwiches (the restaurant's main offering) are not really my first choice when it comes to lunches or dinners (I usually don't get filled up sad HAHA!)

Luckily, my family was in the mood for a 'light' afternoon snack.

   Faking Duck (Whole)

Out of its endless crazy list of choices, we decided to split the largest-size of the Faking Duck (P120/P195/P345). True to its name, the pork meat can pretty much pass off as the Peking Duck meat. The pork strips were tender and juicy, slathered with some good hoisin sauce, and with fried crunchy bits which made each bite delightful! I would have liked it better if it were less fatty, though!

   Faking Duck (Slice)

I was craving for their Arce Dairy Milkshakes (specifically, the Queso Real one)! However, it was not available (which simply is not acceptable, because I was really craving for it). Thus, we opted for a lighter alternative. We decided to sample their iced tea slushes, particularly the Tamarind and Peach flavors. I did enjoy how natural each one tasted, and how refreshing each drink was. I would have appreciated it if they lessened the crushed ice pebbles, though!

Like always, I think we over-ordered for our 'light' merienda. However, I wouldn't say that I regretted doing so. Definitely looking forward to sample their other 'wiches!

   Iced Tea Slush

Date of Visit:
2014-01-05

Restaurant Ratings
  • Taste (4)
  • Environment (5)
  • Service (5)
  • Clean (4)
  • Price (5)
Rate this review

  • Keep it up

    0

  • Look Forward

    0

  • Interesting

    0

  • Touched

    0

  • Admiration

    0

  • Nice Photo

    0
Greeka Kouzina: From Quiet to Mainstream Dining
Smile 2014-03-30
Tucked away in a small corner along P. Guevarra St., Greeka Kouzina's simple exteriors may easily go unnoticed by diners who have never heard of the place.

For those who have, I'm sure a certain loyalty will have been forged after that first amazing dining experience. You would have then stopped minding about having to braving through the traffic of Ortigas Avenue and EDSA and the crazily limited parking space it has. Its food is simply something that you can't help but keep coming back to.

That's why I was quite surprised to see it branching out to SM Aura. It made me wonder how this expansion will all come into play. Can the Aura branch live up to the expectations of loyal die-hard Greeka Kouzina diners? Would its homey ambiance still be maintained now that Greeka situates itself in a shopping mall?

Thus, I decided to do a little bit of experimentation. I decided to dine in its two branches within a month's time.

THE FIRST VISIT: JANUARY 2, 2014 (P. GUEVARRA BRANCH)

Since we were introducing Greeka to my mom's sister, Ai Beth, for the first time, we decided to play it safe when it came to the dishes we ordered. We stuck to our usual fare, with just slight deviations.

Our first main would be their signature Arni Lemonato (P610), lamb roasted for five hours which made it so tender that the meat easily fell off the bones. Read more about it in my previous Greeka Kouzina article.

   Arni Lemonato

We decided to pair this rich and tasty main with the Roka Garides Pasta. The shrimp and arugula pasta provided a nice contrast to the smoky flavors of the meat since the noodles were tossed in a light and zesty tomato sauce and garnished with feta cheese for that extra kick of flavor.

   Roka Garides Pasta

We mistakenly ordered the Chicken Souvlaki (P430). We thought that it was the same as the Chicken Souvlaki Salad. Instead, the greens were replaced with slices of pita bread. The lack of greens wasn't a problem for us. Rather, it was the chicken itself which was a bit lackluster. It was dry and paled considerably in flavor compared to what we had before.

   Chicken Souvlaki

For the side, we decided to pair it up with the Moussaka, which featured layers of grilled eggplant, ground beef, and bechamel sauce. Their moussaka is just alright for me. I prefer my mom's. However, my mom herself, and her sister, were fans of it so I guess it was acceptable.

   Moussaka

Since we didn't finish the pita bread, we had enough room to accommodate two dessert options.

The first would be my mom and aunt's pick, the Milopita (P180). It featured a thin crepe like-pastry filled with sliced apples, and sprinkled with cinnamon. It was topped by a huge scoop of vanilla ice cream. This was a so-so dessert that would satisfy anyone's sweet tooth. It was alright; however, I don't think I'll ever find myself drooling about it.

   Milopita

My pick for the night was the opposite. It's something that I couldn't stop drooling about and yapping about. The Greeka Yogurt (P170) featured two lovely scoops of amazingly luscious Greek yogurt, on a bed of honey, and sprinkled with a handful of pistachios. Simply a delight in each bite!

   Greeka Yogurt

THE SECOND VISIT: JANUARY 25, 2014 (SM AURA)

This time, I was accompanied with my mom and sister; so we had more opportunity to sample dishes we hadn't tried before.

The first would be the Krasates (P480), which featured two hefty pieces of perfectly grilled tender pork chops topped with a thin layer of bleu cheese walnut. This was such a delightful dish where you can certainly get your money's worth. The pork chops were tender and well marinated (that you can do without the gravy!)

   Krasates

For our other main dish, we decided to sample its Salmon in Avgilemeono Sauce (P530). This pan-fried piece of salmon was prepared perfectly. It was juicy, and was such a delight to eat on its own. I wasn't a fan of its greek wine and lemon base sauce. For me, the sauce simply overpowers the naturally delicious flavor of the salmon.

   Salmon in Avgilemono Sauce

For our sides, we decided to get the Moussaka, once more. (I am really not a fan of it, but I don't get why they keep ordering it :|). We also got the lovely Watercress Salad which was a refreshing alternative to our mains.

   Watercress Salad

For both nights, I came home with a full stomach and a giddy feeling. Despite switch to going mainstream, Greeka has managed to be consistent with the quality dishes they have been known for.

Date of Visit:
2014-01-02

Restaurant Ratings
  • Taste (4)
  • Environment (5)
  • Service (5)
  • Clean (5)
  • Price (5)
Rate this review

  • Keep it up

    0

  • Look Forward

    0

  • Interesting

    0

  • Touched

    0

  • Admiration

    0

  • Nice Photo

    0
Openrice
3 Review(s)
el servicio es muy mal
Cries 2014-03-30
I'll never forget my experience here. I totally understand that it's lunch time, it's jam-packed that we had to share our table with others. But come on 40 minutes for a fast food?! We were 10 mins. earlier, yet their food came in first. Then another group came in, then they got their orders again. I just didn't have enough energy that time to transfer and wait again. 2 follow-ups plus talking to the manager. Yes...the manager did apologize. But the crew whom i asked before, is the same crew that served our order, did not even give any kind of empathy. I've learned my lesson, next time, I'll go straight to the manager.sad

Date of Visit:
2011-06-06

Restaurant Ratings
  • Taste (4)
  • Environment (3)
  • Service (1)
  • Clean (3)
  • Price (5)
Rate this review

  • Keep it up

    0

  • Look Forward

    0

  • Interesting

    0

  • Touched

    0

  • Admiration

    0

  • Nice Photo

    0
Showing 1 to 15 of 36730 reviews