Asia DiningAsia Dining
MarliesTravels

Profile Stat:

The First to Review: 23
Review: 82
Photos Uploaded: 527
Videos Uploaded: 0
Favorite Restaurant: 0
Recommended Reviews: 0
Recommended: 1
Following: 9
Followers: 12

MarliesTravels

My name is MarliesTravels. I am a nurse . I love Italian the most.

Showing 1 to 15 of 82 reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 6
Sort by:
Region:
Every Flavored Beans
Smile 2012-03-07
Bag of Beans Coffee Shop & Bakery ( Cavite )

 B.O.B.

It was still drizzling when we finished our late lunch and after roaming around Sonya's Garden. Since we love trying out new restaurants, we headed back to Bag of Beans which we passed on the way to Sonya's Garden. We heard that they had great coffee, desserts as well as a nice ambiance. Read on to see what the fuss is all about smile

Bag of Beans is not just a coffee shop and bakery but a garden restaurant, too. They serve all-day breakfast, rice meals, pastas, a variety of baked goods and desserts. They also offer a wedding package for newlyweds who want to have their reception here. It's along Aguinaldo Highway and is easy to spot.

Once you enter the bakery, the aroma of coffee and freshly baked good greets you, as well as a glass display of some of their delicious desserts. You'd then be ushered in a small open space, much like a balcony, overseeing the garden below. You can either choose to stay inside the small cafe or outside the garden. They have ample seating areas and each uniquely designed.

GARDEN RESTAURANT

 Al fresco dining

The garden downstairs was spacious and so relaxing! There were odd flowering plants all around that bring color to the place. By the corner is a birdcage with a myna bird which sadly was quiet that time. Hehe! It probably was not in the mood because of the rain?! We wanted to stay out but the rain didn't let up.

INDOOR DINING

 Indoor dining

The indoor restaurant was simple and didn't have any elaborate decorations. The room was dimly lit, perfect for a relaxing afternoon tea -- or coffee. tongue

They had simple wooden chairs and tables, good for a couple or for groups of 4 to 8. In keeping up with the garden theme, the centerpieces were small vases with fresh flowers. There were also white drapes and lanterns that give the room a yellowish glow.

On the far wall is a uniquely shaped table coupled with round stools, all seemed to be carved from a tree. At the center of the table is a basket with balls of varying sizes and design. There's also an area with a traditional Filipino bench with soft, white throw pillows -- a nice area for reading or for simply laying back.

THE MENU

 Menu

We like the variety of food they serve! They have all-day breakfast which includes bacon or sausage and egg, omelette, and meals called Sunrise breakfast, Country breakfast and breakfast sampler (combo of pancakes, hash brown, omelette). They also serve Pinoy breakfast: the different -silog's! Grilled meat and fish are also available served with steamed veggies, and choice of mashed potato, garlic fried rice, fries and salad. If you want a lighter meal, they have a myriad of pasta you can choose from: lasagna, seafood pasta, pasta with cream sauce, one with garlic and mushroom, even veggie pasta! smile

To go with these yummy sounding meals, they offer hot beverages like freshly brewed coffee, barako coffee, cappuccino and the like, as well as cold ones like iced tea, fruit and milk shakes and cold versions of their hot beverages. For dessert, you can have a banana split, cheesecakes, chocolate mousee or panacotta. Oh and different kinds of pies are also available for those who don't want too much carbs. tongue

THE FOOD

Since we were already full from our hearty meal at Sonya's Garden, we had Banana Walnut pancake, blueberry cheesecake and house blend coffee. Pius wanted to eat rice so he ordered tapsilog.

   Tapsilog

The tapsilog was served with veggies on the side as well as atsara to go with the tapa. We liked how tender and flavorful the tapa was! We thought that it would be a little tough since it was not cut thinly but it really was tender, juicy too!

   Banana Walnut Pancake

Three huge pancakes, with a big dollop of butter, soft banana slices, crunchy, crushed walnuts with maple syrup on the side. We were surprised at how big the serving was! We probably were used to the size of panckaes from fast foods. Haha! lol The pancakes were so soft, the bananas sweet and the walnuts added texture to the otherwise plain pancake. The two of us had a hard time finishing this since we were already so full.

   Blueberry Cheesecake

We really liked this dessert! It was so cold and smooth. The heaps of blueberry on top complemented the sour cream cheese and sweet graham well. Every bite was a delight! Wish we could have had more, if we weren't so full, that is!

   BOB Hot Chocolate

We got their hot chocolate which tasted really good. It was rich and creamy, not too sweet -- just the way we like it. Having hot choco on a cold, rainy (and foggy!) afternoon was great! We also loved the mugs their hot beverages were served in! tongue

BAG OF BEANS EXPERIENCE

We hope we can go here when it's not raining so we can experience dining out at the garden. We still had fun, though! The service was great, the ambiance was relaxing and the food -- sumptuous! We'd love to try their baked goods and other bestsellers the next time we go there! bowl

Recommended Dish(es):
Banana Walnut Pancake,Blueberry Cheesecake

Spending:
Approximately
Php200+

Restaurant Ratings
  • Taste (5)
  • Environment (5)
  • Service (5)
  • Clean (5)
  • Price (5)
Rate this review

  • Keep it up

    0

  • Look Forward

    0

  • Interesting

    0

  • Touched

    0

  • Admiration

    0

  • Nice Photo

    0
The Healthy Option
Smile 2012-03-02
Sonya's Garden ( Cavite )

 One of a king garden

Health comes to mind whenever the freshest ingredients are used. And what better way to experience a healthy diet than at Sonya's Garden. We've been wanting to dine here and the plan finally pushed through.

The clouds were gloomy and the cold breeze seems to invite rain. But as usual, we don't let the rain ruin our day. Our umbrellas to the rescue! tongue

 Serene Haven

Sonya's Garden is a restaurant, cafe as well as a bed & breakfast. It used to be a private garden, then the owner decided to have it opened to the public after being convinced by her family and friends. And thanks to them, we were able to share in their lovely experience at this place.

They also have a Panaderia serving freshly baked bread and other goodies like cookies, and traditional Pinoy snacks such as monay, putok and ogoy-ogoy. The smell of these baked goods hits you once you enter the simple panaderia and invites you to try them! smile

On the far end of the garden is Sonyas's Sensuous Spa surrounded by luscious greens and an earthy fountain. The great looking landscape and serenity completes your spa experience! You'd surely feel relaxed after a good massage and a refreshing environment! Near the spa is the souvenir shop with items like oils, handicrafts and various trinkets the owner got from her travels around the world.

From the entrance is a pathway leading to the greenhouse-like restaurant. Plants are also scattered around the place that make the space cool and refreshing. By the door to the dining hall is a small pool with bright red and yellow flowers, as well as different colored, house-shaped mini lanterns which make for a vibrant walkway!

The other pathway leads to more function rooms and the cottages / bed and breakfast. There's a nice daybed with drapes around it and surrounded by vine -- feels like you're in a magical forest! tongue The garden is just so rich! with various kinds and colors of flowers, big and small plants and trees.

SONYA'S SECRET COTTAGE RESTAURANT

If you want to try the restaurant, make a reservation. The offer a sit-down type of buffet and serve all-natural, healthy meals which includes bottomless fresh dalandan juice, salad, bread, pasta and desserts. It costs 610php per person.

 Dining Hall

Unique and fun-looking chandeliers, along with white drapes, hang on the ceiling which makes the restaurant a bit more interesting. On the right wall are wooden panels with capiz -- showcasing traditional Pinoy woodwork. The whole area is just so conducive for quiet, as well as healthy dining. tongue

There's a waiting area near the comfort rooms with this large, wooden daybed with nice, intricate carvings. Instead of male and female signs, they used paintings to indicate which comfort room is for boys and girls. tongue

THE FOOD

Almost all the ingredients are home grown, straight from their garden! You know that everything's fresh. It's a sit down type of buffet. You can ask to refill the toppings for the salad, bread and pasta. The meal comes with bottomless, freshly squeezed dalandan juice which is not only healthy but so delicious, too! tongue

   Salad Toppings

For starters, you'll be served with a bowl of fresh green leaves with a myriad of toppings to choose from placed in ceramic cups. Toppings include mangoes, cubed melon, eggs, cucumber, broad beans and pineapples. We especially liked the sweet mangoes, melon and crunchy broad beans. The dressing is Sonya's Garden's secret. tongue

   Sesame Bread

Next is freshly baked bread from the panaderia. To go with the bread, they have basil pesto, anchovies, white cheese, mushroom pate and black olive tapinade. We loved the mushroom pate, and the flavorful basil pesto! The texture and taste were perfect with the whole wheat sesame bread!

   Do your own pasta

Next on the menu is the pasta, served in a glass bowl with a wooden, pineapple shaped fork! We loved this concept! Made the dining experience more fun! You can either have the white sauce: chicken cream with mango, or the red sauce: sun dried tomatoes. Toppings include salmon belly, shiitake mushrooms, capers, black olives, ratatouille and grated parmesan cheese. We were already full so we were only able to grab a few bites. tongue

   Sumptuous Desserts!

Lastly, the desserts! We had a small slice of homemade chocolate cake -- which wasn't enough so we got another. Haha! lol And a plate of banana rolls with sesame and jackfruit and glazed sweet potato. The cake was nice and moist, the chocolate on top was just divine! It looked and tasted great! The banana rolls were not crispy anymore but still tasted ok.

They served us with tarragon tea after the desserts. The tea was nothing like we've tasted before - really refreshing and kind of minty. Tarragon tea helps in digestion and also enhances the mood! What a perfect ending to our hearty meal! lol

DINING EXPERIENCE

 Greenhouse-like Restaurant

We had an amazing time at this wonderful, not-so-secret garden. The food, though not our usual food choice was great! We never thought we'd enjoy healthy food this much! We were able to taste new flavors which we enjoyed! The rain can't dampen our mood right? tongue

We hope we could try the whole Sonya's Garden experience, with the spa and bed and breakfast! That would be a perfect, relaxing weekend getaway! bowl

Spending:
Approximately
Php610

Restaurant Ratings
  • Taste (5)
  • Environment (5)
  • Service (5)
  • Clean (5)
  • Price (5)
Rate this review

  • Keep it up

    0

  • Look Forward

    0

  • Interesting

    0

  • Touched

    0

  • Admiration

    0

  • Nice Photo

    0
Welcome to the Club!
Smile 2012-01-30
Kanin Club ( Diliman )

 Kanin Club

We were already in Trinoma when we decided to eat at Kanin Club instead. We were always in Trinoma anyways and we wanted to try something different. Good thing it wasn't that far! smile

It was only 4pm and there were already a lot at the restaurant. We immediately ordered after being seated -- what else but the famous crispy dinuguan! But before that, on to the place first. tongue

The restaurant's ambiance was relaxing, with the dim lights, warm, rich colors of the wooden chairs and tables, typical of Pinoy restaurants. It felt like we were dining at an old Spanish/Pinoy house. There were wooden shutters, colorful oil paintings as well as nice decors - felt just like home. smile The servers were nice and friendly, too with their smiling and inviting faces.

Now about the Food:

   Crispy Dinuguan (261php)

The Crispy Dinuguan was a sure hit! Our friend who does not eat dinuguan liked it after trying a bite. She eventually got the last serving. Haha! It was crunchy, much like chicharon and just had the right flavor, not too salty. The sauce was also good, complemented the crispy pork bits well -- all perfect with rice! tongue

   Bistek Pinoy (187php)

We also tried the Bistek Pinoy. The beef was tender and not tough at all to cut. The sauce was delicious, perfect to put over the rice - a viand in itself hehe!

We also had Ripe Mango Shake (97php) which was sweet, cool and refreshing - great with our flavorful Pinoy viands! The four of us had a great time at Kanin Club! great ambiance, servers, and the best Pinoy dishes! bowl

Recommended Dish(es):
Crispy Dinuguan

Spending:
Approximately
Php250+

Restaurant Ratings
  • Taste (5)
  • Environment (5)
  • Service (5)
  • Clean (5)
  • Price (5)
Rate this review

  • Keep it up

    0

  • Look Forward

    0

  • Interesting

    0

  • Touched

    0

  • Admiration

    0

  • Nice Photo

    0
True Confections
Smile 2012-01-24
Fleur de Lys Patisserie ( Tomas Morato )
We just had lunch at The Real Thing Diner at the nearby Il Terrazzo and did not have any desserts there. So we decided to have some at Fleur De Lys, a quaint patisserie we saw on our way to Il Terrazzo.

 Patisserie & Cafe

This patisserie and cafe at Tomas Morato is owned by Chef Jackie Ang Po who hosted the TV shows True Confections and Delicioso on QTV. She won a bronze for the country at the Food and Hotel Asia Singapore competition.

The cafe is open from 10.30am-12mn from Monday to Thursday, from 10am-1am on Fridays and Saturdays, and from 2pm-10pm on Sundays.

THE AMBIANCE

 Warm and cozy

The ambiance is warm and cozy, with blue-green walls, simple wooden tables and light, silver chairs. Colorful works of art are displayed on the wall as well as photos of enticing, mouth-watering desserts! We love the silver designs on the walls that seemed like decoupage! smile

The cafe also has their pastries available for take-out. They put the delectable pastries in cute boxes tied with a bright green ribbon - perfect for gifts! They also have unique cookie jars, also a good gift idea!

THE MENU

Aside from the desserts, they also serve soups, salads, rice meals, pasta dishes and grilled paninis. With that, you have fruit juices, shakes, coffee, and tea to choose from! What we love are the uniquely named cakes and pastries like Dulce and Gabanana, Build me up Buttercrunch, A River Rums Through, and Nuts About you, to name a few. tongue

THE FOOD

We chose The Next Best Thing, Best Kept C-kret and Dulce and Gabanana.

   The Next Best Thing (128php)

Chocolate cake with caramel filling served with vanilla ice cream. The cake was soft and the inside was just lovely, sweet and creamy. Wish the ice cream was served really cold, though - it melted too quickly. Hehe! The chocoalte cake and vanilla ice cream was a good combination, perfect for the sweet tooth! smile

   Best Kept C-kret (115php)

A light chiffon cake with 3 creams: yema custard, caramel and chocolate. The cake was light and refreshing! The different kinds of cream complemented each other well, sweet yet not overpowering. The texture was great - smooth, thick, creamy.

   Dulce and Gabanana (120php)

Fresh banana tart with chocolate dulce de leche filling on gingersnap crust topped with whipped cream, caramel and chocolate. What we loved about this are the fresh bananas. The crust was okay, too-really crispy and flavorful. We also liked the chocolate and caramel syrup on top. smile

FLEUR DE LYS EXPERIENCE

 From the Chef / Owner

We're glad to have had our desserts here! The place looked great even if it was small, the servers all had smiling faces and the cakes and pastries were good! We'd love to try the other bestsellers we've read so much about like the Pavlova Picasso and the Strawberry Pie with big chunks of fresh strawberries with a layer of chocolate! Ooooh can't wait! bowl

Recommended Dish(es):
The Next Best Thing,Dulce and Gabanana

Spending:
Approximately
Php150(Tea)

Restaurant Ratings
  • Taste (5)
  • Environment (5)
  • Service (5)
  • Clean (5)
  • Price (5)
Rate this review

  • Keep it up

    0

  • Look Forward

    0

  • Interesting

    0

  • Touched

    0

  • Admiration

    0

  • Nice Photo

    0
It's The Real Thing!
Smile 2012-01-23
The Real Thing Diner ( Tomas Morato )

 The Real Thing Diner

We've been to Il Terrazzo a couple of times and have yet to try this fairly new restaurant. We decided to go there with our friend Yani to taste some Coca-cola infused dishes. ^_^

The Real Thing Diner is owned by singer, songwriter, harpist Noelle Cassandra and singer, events host KV Golamco. The retro themed diner have Coca-Cola memorabilia collected by Mr. Golamco from his stint at the Coca-Cola Company displayed around. The place looks fun and inviting with all the red and white Coke inspired items!

The place is open everyday from 11am to 2.30pm and from 5.30pm to 10pm. They're open til 11pm on Fridays and Saturdays.

THE AMBIANCE

 Red and White

The diner is eye-catching with the red and white interiors, truly Coca-Cola inspired! They have simple white tables, red, soft chairs as well as black couches shaped like the Coke waves. On the walls are bubbles with some of the owners collection like cans, bottles, and the famous Coca-Cola polar bear. There's also a big, colorful mural on the wall, giving the place a fun feel!

 Through the Years

On the far right is a very long shelf showcasing the various designs of Coke cans throughout the years. There's also a rack shaped like a Coke bottle where diners can appreciate the unique Coke-inspired items like drinking bottles, bottle caps, stuffed polar bear and more Coke cans/bottles. smile There are also framed newspaper clippings, reviews, articles about the Diner and its owners.

THE MENU

On their menu are Coca-cola infused dishes like Royal Pumpkin Soup, Sarsi wings, Sprite Calamari, Coke Zero Fish Fingers and a lot more! It really is the Real Thing! Their unique meals had us confused on what to get. tongue

THE FOOD

We finally decided on their Coca-Cola Seafood Jambalaya, Sarsi Fish 'n Chips and Coca-Cola BBQ Burger.

   Coca-Cola Seafood Jambalaya (229php)

Coca-Cola Seafood Jambalaya. A delicious medley of Coca-cola, rice, celery & bell peppers, topped with diced shrimps and fish fillet.

We liked how this dish had a lot on it! The shrimps were plump and juicy while the fish fillet was soft and flavorful. It was a little too spicy though. Nevertheless, we enjoyed it and finished the whole dish!

   Coca-Cola BBQ Burger (199php)

Coca-Cola BBQ Burger. Cheesy backyard burger cooked to perfection in our signature Coca-Cola BBQ sauce.

This was a sure hit! The beef patty was big, juicy, well-cooked and flavorful! The veggies were crisp and the sauce was just great! The combo of flavors was just right, add to that the fat chunks of fries. It was a real tummy filler! Great on the taste buds, too!

   Sarsi Fish 'n Chips (179php)

Sarsi Fish 'n Chips. Sarsi-coated fish 'n chips coated with our original Sarsi sauce.

It was unlike anything we've tasted before -- really original. Hehe! The sauce was great with the mildly flavored fish fillet. The texture was good, too- crispy on the outside yet soft and juicy on the inside! It was served with big a heap of potato fries which were also yummy!

THE REAL THING DINER EXPERIENCE

 Real Rewards

We had a great time at this fun and interesting diner! The server was so helpful, putting in his 2cents on what we should get. He also told us a little about the owners and how the diner started. The food did not only looked enticing, but tasted scrumptious as well! We had a blast looking at the memorabilia and reminiscing the Coke advertisements from when we were younger. Hehe! bowl

Recommended Dish(es):
Coca-Cola BBQ Burger,Coca-Cola Seafood Jambalaya.

Spending:
Approximately
Php200+

Restaurant Ratings
  • Taste (5)
  • Environment (5)
  • Service (5)
  • Clean (5)
  • Price (5)
Rate this review

  • Keep it up

    1

  • Look Forward

    0

  • Interesting

    0

  • Touched

    0

  • Admiration

    0

  • Nice Photo

    0
One More Chance Revisited!
Smile 2012-01-08
Bellini's ( Cubao )

 Bellini's Italian Restaurant

Before heading to Casa Santa, we went to this restaurant which we came to know because of the movie One More Chance. We wanted to see it for ourselves and experience Italian dining. We're glad to have visited the place -- it looked great and the food served were scrumptious! smile

Bellini's is owned by Roberto Bellini and his wife, Ma. Luisa. It is located at Marikina Shoe Expo in Cubao, along with the other unique shops and restaurants. It's an Italian resturant that serves great tasting pizza and pasta!

THE AMBIANCE

The place looks so vibrant and festive with all the paintings and eye catching photographs displayed on the walls. The also have a cool wine rack showcasing numerous Italian wines. The restaurant is divided into 3 rooms.

The largest one is where a scene from the movie One More Chance was shot. On the back wall is a miniature leaning tower of Pisa and on the right are framed photographs and newspaper clippings of the owner from when he was a paparazzo, covering the Edsa Revolution.

 When in Rome

The next room features murals and a replica of the famous Colosseum. This room is also adorned with colorful paintings, from the ceiling to all the walls!

The third room is where we dined. The entrance to this room is an archway with the phrase "La Dolce Vita" which means the good life or the sweet life. Here, more wine bottles are displayed on the wall as well as guitars and violins. There's also a replica of a Venetian bridge on one of the walls in this small and cozy room.

THE MENU

 Since 1999

They have a variety of pizza and pasta flavors as well as great antipasti or appetizers! They also have a wine selection and some great-looking desserts! tongue

THE FOOD

We had their carbonara, mediterranea, petta di pollo alla milanese and melon shake.

   Carbonara (250php)

Carbonara. Fettuccini with white sauce, smoked bacon and egg. The pasta was cooked perfectly, al dente and the sauce was creamy and flavorful. The smoked bacon complemented the rich white sauce. Wish there were more though. tongue

   Mediterranea (280php)

Mediterranea. Mozzarella, bacon, onion, oregano. We loved how the thin crust was crunchy and kinda smoky. The combination of the different toppings was delicious! The serving was just right and filling. It could be cheesier though ('cause we love cheese. haha!).

   Petto di Pollo all Milanese (250php)

Petto di Pollo all Milanese. Fried chicken dipped in egg, breadcrumbs. This dish was great! The outside was nice and crispy while the inside was soft and juicy! It was also packed with flavor! The lime on the side gave it a tangy twist. Don't put too much though, it can get too sour. But all, in all, the chicken was good!

   Melon Shake

The melon shake was nice and refreshing but it could use more sugar and be a little thicker, still a good drink to go with our delicious Italian meal! smile

THE DINING EXPERIENCE

Our time at Bellini's was great! We had a filling, authentic Italian meal in such a nicely decorated restaurant. Mr. Bellini was even there to greet his customers. He has a smiling face and was a good host to the diners. We'd love to go back and eat with our friends there. We enjoyed the ambiance as much as the food! bowl

 The Sweet Life! <3

Recommended Dish(es):
Mediterranea,Petto di Pollo all Milanese

Spending:
Approximately
Php300+(Lunch)

Restaurant Ratings
  • Taste (5)
  • Environment (5)
  • Service (5)
  • Clean (5)
  • Price (4)
Rate this review

  • Keep it up

    0

  • Look Forward

    0

  • Interesting

    0

  • Touched

    0

  • Admiration

    1

  • Nice Photo

    0
Candlelit Afternoon Snack
Smile 2012-01-06
Candlelight Cafe ( Batangas )

 Coffee - Food - Candles - Art

This small cafe caught our eye when we were on our way to the city. The place looked inviting with the warm exterior and the eye-catching mural on the wall. We thought there were no other new restaurants/cafes in Lipa so we were really happy to have come across Candlelight Cafe.

Candlelight Cafe is owned by Morten and Marichu Carstensen, coffee and candle lovers. They first thought of opening a cafe on this site since there are no coffee shops yet on this side of town. And because they also manufacture candles, they decided to combine coffee and candles in one shop! They are open everyday from 7am to 9pm.

THE AMBIANCE

 Warm and cozy

The feel of the place is warm and cozy, perfect for enjoying a nice cup of coffee. They have simple, wooden chairs and tables, as well as some warm colored seats. Near the entrance is a coffee table and a comfortable sofa with a magazine rack on either side.

On the shelves are the candles/works of art! The place also smells of coffee and scented candles -- kind of relaxing and soothing! On the far side of the shop is a mural that seemed like a garden walkway, also pleasing to the eyes.

Some of the noticeable pretty artworks / candles are the big cakes, pastries, christmas trees, animals like chickens, rabbits and elephants, and the big white chair fit for a queen! Vibrant paintings are also displayed around the cafe. smile

THE MENU

The cafe's food selection is limited probably because they just opened two months ago. They offer sandwiches, pasta, hot and cold drinks and some unique Pinoy desserts, all at an affordable price. We hope that they could expand their menu -- we liked what we had that afternoon! smile

THE FOOD

We asked what they would recommend and they said that we should get the rigatoni pasta with tuna. We also got the suman with mango sauce, a cookie and brownie. We chose the strawberry shake and white chocolate frappe for our drinks.

   Rigatoni Pasta with Tuna

Thanks to the suggestion of our barrista, we had full tummies! The pasta was served with bread and some greens with hard-boiled egg. The sauce was so rich and creamy and had lots of tuna chunks! The greens were crispy and tasted good with the egg. This dish was a sure hit! smile

   Suman with Mango Sauce

This very Pinoy snack/dessert was also a hit! The suman had the right texture and taste, not too sweet nor bland. It was perfect with the mango sauce which was a little too runny but tasted really good! We can't get enough of it! Haha! (kinda biased here 'cause we love mangoes!) It went well with our flavorful pasta!

   Cookie and Brownie

Since we wanted more and were too full for a big serving of salad, we opted to try their cookie and brownie displayed on the counter. The cookie was big, soft on the inside yet crumbly on the outside, and sweet! We could really taste the sweet chocolate chips which we love! The brownie was also good -- just had the right sweetness and was packed and not airy. What a sugar rush indeed. Haha! lol

   White Chocolate Frappe

Not only did this beverage look yummy, it tasted really good too! It was rich, creamy, not too strong like we expected. We loved that the whipped cream on top complemented the frappe, that it tasted sweet too! We're glad we followed the barrista's recommendations. smile

   Strawberry Shake

This, too, was a great drink! It was fruity, creamy and refreshing! It didn't taste artificial like the other shakes we've tried. We weren't able to finish it and just brought it out with us since we felt like our tummies would be bursting from everything we ate. Haha! lol

CANDLELIGHT CAFE EXPERIENCE

   Candlelit Afternoon Snack

We had fun admiring the unique candles while munching on our scrumptious meal and drinks! We hope that they could offer more meals so we'd come back more often and try their specialties! This is one special cafe we'll recommend to coffee and art, candle lovers! smile

Recommended Dish(es):
Suman with Mango Sauce,White Chocolate Frappe

Spending:
Approximately
Php200+(Tea)

Restaurant Ratings
  • Taste (5)
  • Environment (5)
  • Service (5)
  • Clean (5)
  • Price (5)
Rate this review

  • Keep it up

    0

  • Look Forward

    0

  • Interesting

    0

  • Touched

    0

  • Admiration

    0

  • Nice Photo

    0
Beautiful Dishes Indeed!
Smile 2011-11-21
Bel Piatto Café and Bistro ( Batangas )

 Bel Piatto Cafe and Bistro

We've tried most, if not all, of the good restaurants in Lipa. It was now time to move on to another city to try and find other great places to eat. Our first stop: Bel Piatto Cafe & Bistro near SM City Batangas.

Bel Piatto Cafe & Bistro is a simple restaurant that offers meals from breakfast to dinner. It is an ideal place to enjoy a sumptuous meal and to relax over a cup of coffee. THe place is very accessible and has an inviting facade. You'd think that they serve expensive food but we thought that we got what we paid for and more! smile

AMBIANCE

 Lounging area

The ambiance is warm and cozy, thanks to the earthy, neutral colors and the comfy seating. They have simple, wooden chairs and tables as well as a nook with soft, comfortable sofa chairs on the far end of the resto, perfect place for enjoying coffee. The place is clean and well-ventilated.

MENU

Bel Piatto offers a variety of Asian, European and American inspired appetizers, entrees, and desserts, all with a Pinoy twist. They also have hot and cold coffee, frappuccino, even cocktails and wine! tongue

FOOD

We had pasta as well as rice meals so we could try a variety of food. We also tried one of their desserts and shakes. smile We liked their Menu since it has photos of the different meals and drinks! Everything looked so delicious!

   Pomodoro Pasta (170php)

Oil base meaty tomato and basil sauce, topped with fresh chili tomatoes, served with slice bread.

The pasta was al dente and well flavored. This is perfect for those who love spicy foods. The bread on the side was perfect to tone down the spicy flavor of the spaghetti. tongue The dish could use some more sauce without too much of the chili though.

   Pepper-crusted Fish Fillet (155php)

Two strips of cream-dory, crusted with lemon butter, fresh pepper served with aioli dip sauce.

The fish fillet was so soft, tender and flavorful! You could taste the butter which was good! It was seasoned well and cooked just right, made more delicious with the aioli dip. The veggies on the side were good, too..crunchy and not over-cooked.

   Italian Tempura (160php)

An Italian version of buttering a 4pcs prawn using beer really enhances the flavor of the prawn when frying.

This was a sure hit! It was a different take on our favorite ebi tempura! The prawns were plump and big, with a tasty covering! Unlike the Japanese version, this one doesn't need too much sauce. It was already flavorful all on its own! Just wish there were more. Haha! lol

   Blueberry and Banana Pancake (99php)

We made this breakfast dish our dessert hehe! And it tasted as great as it looked! The pancake was soft and yummy, perfect with the tasty blueberries and butter. This dish was gone in a matter of minutes. Haha! ^_^

   Banana Split Mocha (139php)

We loved this drink! It also served as our dessert! It was rich, creamy and perfect for the warm afternoon! It had whipped cream, a drizzle of chocolate syrup, cherry, and a slice of banana. The combination of textures and flavors was great!

DINING EXPERIENCE

Our Bel Piatto experience was perfect! The place was great, the staff was friendly and accommodating and the food was just awesome! They exceeded our expectations and that's saying a lot! Next time, we'd love to just lay back and enjoy coffee while browsing on the net with free wi-fi. bowl

 Beautiful Dishes Indeed!

Recommended Dish(es):
Italian Tempura, Blueberry and Banana Pancake, Banana Split Mocha

Spending:
Approximately
Php230(Lunch)

Restaurant Ratings
  • Taste (5)
  • Environment (5)
  • Service (5)
  • Clean (5)
  • Price (5)
Rate this review

  • Keep it up

    2

  • Look Forward

    0

  • Interesting

    0

  • Touched

    0

  • Admiration

    0

  • Nice Photo

    0
Over The Top-pings!
Smile 2011-11-18
Pizza Pedrico's ( Batangas )

 Pizza Pedrico's

If you're looking for a snack that's tasty yet simple and affordable, go to Pizza Pedrico's. With the brightly colored space, with the pictures of the various flavors of pizza plastered on the walls and tables, you'd not miss this small pizza place. They sure did a good job making the space noticeable! And you won't have a hard time choosing since the menu is everywhere. Haha! lol

They offer small sized pizza, perfect for a light afternoon snack. The pizzas choices are: chorizo, ham, sausage, cheez and cheez, ham + sausage, ham + pineapple, sausage + pepperoni, all with cheez. tongue

They also have twacky twirls, curly pasta, either with red sauce, white sauce or cheese sauce. They also offer this yummy looking snack called pizza burger, burger chunks with pizza sauce in between pizza crust.

   Ham + Pineapple and Cheez

   Ham + Sausage and Cheez

We ordered Ham + Sausage and Cheez and Ham + Pineapple and Cheez for 39php each. We were just looking for something to munch on after some hours of walking around. They both tasted good, though the one with pineapple could be better. The combination of ham, sausage and cheese was good, the flavor was great with cheese. The pizza crust was crunchy and served hot which is a plus!

For only 39pesos, we got a warm serving of tasty, cheesy, homemade-like pizza.. not bad! -- and you can even share these pizzas at home! bowl

 Facade

 Choices!

 Over sa Topping, Over sa Sarap!

 Tables and Chairs

 In a Box

Spending:
Approximately
Php50(Tea)

Restaurant Ratings
  • Taste (4)
  • Environment (4)
  • Service (4)
  • Clean (4)
  • Price (4)
Rate this review

  • Keep it up

    0

  • Look Forward

    0

  • Interesting

    1

  • Touched

    0

  • Admiration

    0

  • Nice Photo

    0
Frutti-licious!
Smile 2011-11-16
Tutti Frutti ( Batangas )

 Frozen Yogurt

We were craving for something sweet and cold -- good thing Tutti Frutti has a promo! They were offering 4ounces of yogurt with toppings all-you-want for 99 pesos! tongue

An ounce would normally cost 18pesos. Time to grab a cup! We chose the cookies and cream flavored yogurt. We wanted the strawberry banana but was unfortunately unavailable. sad

The other flavors they had were taro and chocolate. (too bad the choices were quite limited) When we got our yogurt filled cup, we had fun putting all the toppings we wanted! We got rice crispies, choco crisps, chocolate drops, slices of mandarin orange, rainbow sprinkles, mango jelly, lychee jelly. Other toppings included walnuts, mini marshmallows, blueberries, lychees (there was none left), strawberries, and various syrups.

 Toppings All You Can

The yogurt was smooth, creamy and refreshing, not too sweet nor too sour. And the toppings were good, too, especially the choco crispies! Would've loved to get more of those Haha! lol

Our cookies and cream yogurt with a bunch of different toppings made our day! Too bad though there was no electricity, only the generators were working and so the place was hot. We had to bring out our fan - thanks to the yogurt which cooled us down a bit!

 Ambiance

The staff was friendly and accommodating which is a plus. She attended to us well and was very helpful. We hope that the next time we visit, there'd be more yogurt flavors, toppings and that the place would be cooler. bowl

SERVING INSTRUCTION:

 1. Select Cup Size

 2. Dispense Frozen Yogurt

 3. Pick Favorite Toppings

 4. Weigh & Pay

Spending:
Approximately
Php99

Restaurant Ratings
  • Taste (4)
  • Environment (4)
  • Service (5)
  • Clean (4)
  • Price (5)
Rate this review

  • Keep it up

    1

  • Look Forward

    0

  • Interesting

    0

  • Touched

    0

  • Admiration

    0

  • Nice Photo

    0
Always The Better Choice
Smile 2011-11-11
Parvati ( North Avenue )

 Home Made. Dessert Shop.

From our hearty meal at Stacy's, we craved for something sweet. We did not have any of Stacy's desserts so we could try the other restaurants'/ cafes' to satisfy our sweet tooth.

Parvati is a small dessert shop by the Mindanao exit at Trinoma. They have a variety of goodies like cookies, cakes, and ice cream.

 Facade

You will be greeted by a display of mouth-watering desserts, a row of simple chairs and tables and friendly servers. On the left side is a display of their bestseller cakes and pastries, along with a TV showcasing how some of them are made.

AMBIANCE

The small yet clean-looking cafe is brightly lit, and smells really good! On the walls are pictures of delicious desserts which we can't wait to taste! tongue

 Plush, comfy seats

They have simple, glass-topped round tables coupled with light weight stainless steel chairs with brown cushions. On the right side of the cafe are long cushioned seats, with small rectangular, glass-topped tables. These make for a laid back, relaxed atmosphere.

THE MENU

 Wishing we had fridge like these at home :p

Their menu is displayed on this fridge where all the desserts are kept. It's complete with pictures, descriptions, available sizes and prices. It was hard choosing, though. They all looked so enticing! tongue

THE FOOD

We finally settled on their Mango Torte and Triple Decker Cheesecake after some debating. Hehe! The desserts all seemed delicious from the pictures! smile

   Mango Torte

It consisted of crunchy,chewy layers of nougatine: brittle-like crisps, rich cream, sweet, soft mangoes and topped with piped whipped cream. We found this dessert so refreshing! The mangoes were ice cold, the cream sweet and rich and the crunchy bottom layer gave it a kick! We wouldn't mind having more if these. Haha! lol

   Triple Decker Cheesecake

This sweet concoction is topped with rich, glossy chocolate, then the packed, flavorful layer of cheesecake with a thin layer of graham-made crust and finally, a brownie-like chocolate bottom layer. The combination of the different textures, (smooth chocolate, crumbly brownie, rich cream cheese, crunchy graham crust) and various flavors (sweet chocolate and graham crust, salty cream cheese) is heaven! The serving size is just right too since the cake is packed some forkfuls will already satisfy you. smile

   Brewed Coffee

Parvati offers free cups of coffee which is great! You can add sugar and milk to your liking, a perfect partner to the sweet delicacies! Customers come back for the desserts, coupled with great tasting brewed coffee and for the ambiance.

DINING EXPERIENCE

We're happy we satisfied our craving for sweets -- with free cups of coffee Haha! lol Some of their desserts were a little pricey but maybe the other dessert lovers won't mind especially if the delicacies are that good! We'd love to try the other bestsellers the next time we find ourselves at this part of the mall. bowl

 Always the better choice

Recommended Dish(es):
Mango Torte

Spending:
Approximately
Php150(Tea)

Restaurant Ratings
  • Taste (5)
  • Environment (5)
  • Service (5)
  • Clean (5)
  • Price (5)
Rate this review

  • Keep it up

    3

  • Look Forward

    0

  • Interesting

    0

  • Touched

    0

  • Admiration

    0

  • Nice Photo

    0
Oh My! Omakase!
Smile 2011-11-10
Omakase Japanese Cuisine ( Tomas Morato )

 Omakase

It was Lolo's 83rd birthday and we all loved Japanese food so we decided to celebrate his special day at Omakase at the Il Terrazo Mall in Quezon City.

 With cute Japanese dolls

The restaurant was bright and had colorful walls, painted with cute Japanese dolls. They had simple black tables coupled with black chairs with red cushions, typical of Japanese restaurants. The place was clean and on the far end showcased the chefs making our favorite sushi and sashimi! It was fun watching them chopping away! lol

They offered everything from soups, salads, beef, pork, chicken and seafood dishes, tempura, sushi & sashimi platters. We had beef sukiyaki, chicken teriyaki, squid (which was called Squidward), ebi tempura -- lola's favorite --, saga tofu, and our favorite California Maki.

   Sukiyaki

The Sukiyaki tasted and smelled great! They already served it in small bowls for those of us who wanted it. The beef was tender and the soup was not too sweet which is good! It was a good start to our big, hearty lunch! tongue

   Chicken Teriyaki

The Chicken Teriyaki was also a hit! The chicken pieces were tender and flavored nicely, not just on the outside with the sweet and tasty teriyaki sauce. It was served with potato salad on the side which we also liked!

Squidward did his job well, satisfying our seafood craving. Hehe! tongue It wasn't too tough to bite like the other squid dishes we've tried. The sauce that came with it was also nice, complemented the dish well. Squidward was able to feed 6 hungry kiddos (and kids at heart) Haha! lol

   Ebi Tempura

Their Ebi Tempura was fantastic! The shrimps were big and plump and the batter covering them was crunchy. You can never go wrong with ebi tempura! We love the big portions as well as the tempura sauce!

We also tried the Saga Tofu and we're glad we did. The tofu was so soft and smooth, you had to use fork and spoon because you'll crush it using chopsticks. The sauce was a perfect partner for the otherwise bland taste of tofu. The 6 pieces were gone in just a matter of minutes. Haha!

One staple dish we would never leave out is California Maki! We like their version since the serving size was big, the mango was sweet, the cucumber fresh and crunchy, the rice soft and packed, wish it had more crabsticks though. tongue

It was truly a happy celebration of Lolo's birthday! We had fun catching up while eating these delicious Japanese delicacies! bowl

 Japanese Cuisine

Recommended Dish(es):
Ebi Tempura, Sukiyaki

Spending:
Approximately
Php400+(Lunch)

Restaurant Ratings
  • Taste (5)
  • Environment (5)
  • Service (5)
  • Clean (5)
  • Price (4)
Rate this review

  • Keep it up

    1

  • Look Forward

    0

  • Interesting

    1

  • Touched

    0

  • Admiration

    0

  • Nice Photo

    0
Fondue For Two
Smile 2011-11-09
Chocolate Spoon ( Ermita )

 Icebergs Chocolate Spoon

Craving for something sweet (as always) we headed to Chocolate Spoon for something to satisfy our sweet tooth. The facade and the interiors looked festive with the orange and green colors. The place was brightly lit and had a number of pictures of mouthwatering concoctions on the walls. The colorful and vibrant designs gave off a happy vibe. smile

The servers were all so friendly and greeted all those who entered the restaurant warmly. Chocolate Spoon offers not just desserts but rice meals, sandwiches, soups, salads, too. We had a target that day, and that's the only thing we had.

   Fondue! :p

THAT: Fondue! We were served this big plate of goodies with a bowl of rich, melted Belgian Chocolate. The fruits to be dipped in the delectable chocolate are bananas, frozen strawberries, kiwi, mangoes as well as marshmallows and some brownie squares. a mouthful right? Heaven! tongue

The staff were staring at us like we were insane. Haha! lol We probably were since we finished the whole plate which was good for about 4 people! Talk about sugar rush!

Needless to say, we had a blast! Dipping all those yummy goodies in the delectable chocolate and finishing all of them was fun! Even if they were watching us like we were doing something crazy (maybe a little). bowl

 Happy Vibe

   Mouthful, Right? :p

   Belgian Chocolate

Recommended Dish(es):
Fondue

Spending:
Approximately
Php200(Tea)

Restaurant Ratings
  • Taste (5)
  • Environment (4)
  • Service (4)
  • Clean (4)
  • Price (4)
Rate this review

  • Keep it up

    0

  • Look Forward

    0

  • Interesting

    0

  • Touched

    0

  • Admiration

    0

  • Nice Photo

    0
Joey's Believe It or Not
Smile 2011-11-09
Joey Pepperoni Pizzeria ( North Avenue )

 Joey Pepperoni Pizzeria

It was already two in the afternoon and we haven't had lunch yet. We came across this pizzeria and decided to try it. The place was a bit crowded -- we were seated at the far end of the restaurant, only a few available tables left.

The atmosphere was warm and inviting as well as the servers. The overhead lamps looked cool. They seemed like upside down paper bags with the resto's logo on them, which had yellow, dim lights. The comfotable sofa type seats lined the wall, on the left. On the menu were a variety of pizza, pasta, panini as well as salads, desserts and beverages.

   Set Meal

For that afternoon, we chose a Set Meal which included mozzarella sticks, pasta, and garlic sticks. We loved the mozzarella sticks! The outside was fried to a golden brown, was crispy and yummy while the inside was soft, gooey, mozzarella sticky goodness! smile

The Carbonara (you can choose from carbonara, bolognese or pesto) was also great! The noodles were al dente, the sauce was very flavorful, with generous toppings of bacon and cheese. The garlic sticks that came with it complemented the dish well. The bread was soft and had the right amount of seasoning.

   The Works

   Margherita

We also ordered their 2 in 1 pizza for only 399php. It's a combination of Margherita and a pizza of your choice. We picked out The Works which had bell peppers, olives, ground beef, onions and loads of cheese. Both tasted good! The pizza dough was cooked perfectly, not too thick, nor tough to bite. The ingredients on them were fresh and delicious! The two boxes were gone in a couple of minutes. Haha! lol

All in all, we had a great time at Joey Pepperoni. Service was fast, the place was clean and had a nice atmosphere and the food was superb and affordable! bowl

 How Pizza and Pasta Should Be

 To GO

Spending:
Approximately
Php180(Dinner)

Restaurant Ratings
  • Taste (4)
  • Environment (4)
  • Service (4)
  • Clean (4)
  • Price (4)
Rate this review

  • Keep it up

    0

  • Look Forward

    0

  • Interesting

    0

  • Touched

    0

  • Admiration

    0

  • Nice Photo

    0
Tip of the Ice
Smile 2011-11-08
Icebergs ( Timog )

 Icebergs

After our big lunch at a Japanese restaurant, we went to Icebergs for dessert. We shared the giant bowl of King Kong's Revenge which had 5 scoops of ice cream (chocolate, mocha, vanilla, ube and cookies 'n cream), pineapple slices, almonds, whipped cream. It was both a feast for the eyes, and for the taste buds! The fusion of the different flavors, fruits and nuts was great! We've had our fill of ice cream for the day! lol

Aside from this, they also have a variety of sundaes, parfaits, banana splits, shakes and smoothies. They're also famous for their sisig and other meals which included those with rice, pasta and sandwiches. We also like the barquillos - perfect with ice cream!

The place was okay, could be better but had no complaints when we went there. The service was also fair. We had to follow-up one order twice before it came. And the cold concoctions? enticing, refreshing and delicious! bowl

 Counter

   King Kong's Revenge

Recommended Dish(es):
King Kong's Revenge

Spending:
Approximately
Php200(Tea)

Restaurant Ratings
  • Taste (5)
  • Environment (3)
  • Service (3)
  • Clean (4)
  • Price (4)
Rate this review

  • Keep it up

    1

  • Look Forward

    0

  • Interesting

    0

  • Touched

    0

  • Admiration

    0

  • Nice Photo

    0